Black & White iPhoneography – Photography Editing Tutorial Video

7 Dec

Here’s another fantastic tutorial video from Guy Yang of The Beginner’s Lens on a subject I’m obviously interested in: black & white iPhoneography, that is, photos taken with the iPhone in grayscale, then intensified into expressive art with selective adjustments (brightness, contrast, sharpening, etc.). Guy takes you through a very thorough step-by-step overview using Filterstorm in this 15-minute professional-level clip, showing how to transform a regular snapshot into a striking composition with selective edits. Note: viewable free for a limited time only.

iPhone Camera Essentials from The Beginner's Lens (new window)

"This video is all about editing – in particular transforming some of your less than fabulous color photos into stunning black & white photos, all from your iPhone." via iPhone Camera Essentials

 As a graphic designer for many years, I’ll say it’s still amazing to me how we can achieve these results so easily now with just a few minutes, and app, and a thumb — whereas 5 years ago, this required either a PC running full-on Photoshop… or a dark room and major skills. I elaborate more on this in a discussion about Instagram, and am still very much into that experience, more all the time. See also: Become Popular on Instagram.

What did you think of the video? Have you explored iPhoneography? Do you think black & white is more enjoyable than color, or vice versa? What tips and apps do you prefer for editing? Who inspires you? Let us hear from you in the comments!

9 Responses to “Black & White iPhoneography – Photography Editing Tutorial Video”

  1. Anonymous December 8, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    This was a great video! When I first started college I was a photo major and was obsessed with B&W, but I’ve noticed since I’ve gotten my iPhone I’ve been primarily shooting in color and playing with all the fun filters on Instagram. I’ll definitely be shooting more B&W now 🙂

    • rsmithing December 9, 2011 at 8:59 am #

      Thanks for commenting! I’m curious: as a photo major, does any of your schooling translate to iPhoneography?

      • roachwrangler December 9, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

        I guess with the iPhone its so easy to just take pictures of everything without really thinking about framing or exposure, and I haven’t really taken it seriously. But now, reading your posts and realizing that we can do amazing things with our phones, I’m going back to more serious photo thinking, haha.

    • roachwrangler December 9, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

      Um that anonymous comment was mine. I don’t know why that happened, I thought I was logged in. woops..

      • rsmithing December 9, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

        Hey, I’m just glad you commented, and especially that you’re inspired to have some fun with it yourself! You should definitely check out Sion Fullana’s stuff in the link above for inspiration — that’s what made me think, wow, there could be something to this. Have fun. 

  2. GREENSALAPAO December 8, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Thank you for following!!! I love b&w photos especially street shots. The expressions, activities, movements and behaviors are better captured in B&w. The feels the moods of the photos are more focused (not distracting by colors).

    My instagram is Greensalapao what’s your?

    • rsmithing December 8, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      You bet! I’m rsmithing. Nicetomeetcha. I think you hit the best point of B&W photography – the moods are definitely more focused. To me, fine-tuning that element is such a great tool for expression.

      And I gotta ask: HOW did you get 3770 followers over on IG?

  3. Debra December 7, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Thanks for the link! I’m a huge fan of iPhoneography and a certified Instagram addict. I must admit that I have a zillion camera apps but usually shoot and edit in Instagram (the old version with the Nashville that is universally flattering for portraits 😉 ). I have to say that I shoot and edit almost exclusively in colour but I shoot Polaroid as well and just ordered some black and white film so experimentation is on!
    Thanks again for popping by my blog.

    • rsmithing December 7, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      You are a purist! Respect. I just upgraded to Instagram 2.0 this week, having done so much sans-filters lately, I figured, why not. Though I will probably miss Gotham. But Nashville? Good for you using it with consistency… I could never get into that one so much, but I always liked the result when other IGers did. See you on IG!

Comments? Leave a Reply!

