Image

National Moth Week: Hemithea aestivaria

22 Jul
20120722-220552.jpg

Single Image Sundays – One of several to come for National Moth Week, July 23-29, 2012

Since I’ve discovered iphoneography, I’ve also been discovering more beauty in our everyday surroundings. And after purchasing a Photojojo macro lens for my iPhone, I’ve also developed a fascination with and appreciation for moths. I never took much notice of moths until getting a close up view for some macro insect photography, inspired by what I’d been seeing at Instagram.

I had no idea moths were so butterfly-like, hairy to the point of fuzziness, and often with large, deep eyes. I used Hipstamatic to get this photo of one on my front door. If you’re interested, definitely check out NationalMothWeek.org for more info.

Could this Moth be Hemithea aestivaria?

If I had to guess, I’d say: Hemithea aestivaria, or the Common Emerald. If you have expertise in this field, please feel free to weigh in with a proper ID. More photos of this guy are at my Flickr photostream. Thanks!

What do you think? Ever discovered an interest in something after getting a closer look? Have you ever seen a particularly interesting moth? What are your favorite insects? Let us hear from you in the comments!
Comments? Leave a Reply!

