National Moth Week: Cool Pics Wrap-Up

29 Jul

Okay, this is it for the moth photo posts (for a while, anyway). I usually do a Single Image Sundays post right about now, but I’m supersizing it for you with a bonus slide show of  select photos I’ve taken & shared in support of National Moth Week, which ends today. Here ’tis:

This project motivated me to expand on the moth photography I was already doing, and I’m happy to report the results have been totally worthwhile. I’ve also enjoyed viewing a ton of interesting moth photos from around the country and have discovered the world of nature photography over at Project Noah (find me there as rsmithing).

Just in case the slide show up top doesn’t render, here’s my favorite image with a link to the whole set on Flickr:

Catch Me If You Can - a photo by rsmithing for National Moth Week 2012

“Catch Me If You Can”

What do you think? Have you ever participated in a group photo project, or nature documentation? Ever experimented with macro photography? Let us hear from you in the comments!
6 Responses to “National Moth Week: Cool Pics Wrap-Up”

  1. Dave Moskowitz February 5, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    Hi Rich…I just wanted to touch base about National Moth Week 2013 (July 20-28). Since you were so helpful spreading the word about the first NMW last year I’m hoping you can help again this year. Last year was a huge success with 308 participating locations in 49 US states and 29 countries. Interest this year is already huge and registrations are coming in from all over. We have also recentky partnered with the Xerces Society, DiversityIndia, Biodiversity Bhutan and the Slovakian Entomological Society and Mothapalooza in Ohio among many others to make this a truly global celebration of moths and to raise environmental awareness. Registration only takes a few seconds on the website at http://www.nationalmothweek.org. Also check out the Facebook page at National Moth Week for daily updates and amazing moth photos from around the world. Dave

    • rsmithing February 7, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

      You bet. Looking forward to 2013’s week already.

  2. Naomi Wittlin August 2, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Who knew moths could be so beautiful and intricate? Huh. Thanks for broadening my horizons yet again!

    • rsmithing August 2, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      I know! It’s amazing the beauty around us in seemingly unlikely places. The great thing about photography is it encourages us to slow down and take a look. Thank you for your comment!

  3. Adriene (Sweepy Jean) July 30, 2012 at 6:35 am #

    It’s funny: I just realized from your post that I have never really given a moth a good look before. These are wonderful photos.

    • rsmithing July 30, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      Thanks very much, Adriene. I do appreciate that! I’d never had a good look before getting into iphoneography with a macro lens, and now I have a real appreciation. Thanks for commenting!

Comments? Leave a Reply!

