Stylized Instamatic 104

24 Jan
Stylized Instamatic 104 by rsmithing
Stylized Instamatic 104, a photo by rsmithing on Flickr.

I dig the convergence of technology and time here in one brief second, now extended to the world and infinity. Here’s a snapshot of one of our modern photographic ancestors I modified with the amazing ToonPaint iPhone app, after shooting with Hipstamtic (a modern-retro simulator, no less). I found the camera at a sweet vintage shop called “Ideas” on Burke Street, Winston-Salem, NC. Original here.

What do you think? Do you see a connection between analog cameras and today’s mobile photography? What apps or camera discoveries have you made lately? Let us hear from you in the comments.
4 Responses to “Stylized Instamatic 104”

  1. Piscis January 26, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    Ooh, I like the photo. The stark blurring highlights the features nicely.

    Camera+ on the iPhone tends to do it for me these days.

    • rsmithing January 27, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      Thanks, Writin’ Fish! I like this one, too – I’m not one for app-ifying so much, but it I think it really does the trick here.

  2. hbw January 25, 2013 at 5:10 am #

    I was given an Instamatic for Christmas the year they came out (and I’ve still got it).. Best present I ever had. The ability to take good quality photos in black and white AND colour and the built in flash really were revolutionary – a superb piece of design. That camera was the beginning of a lifetime love affair with photography.

    • rsmithing January 25, 2013 at 7:46 am #

      How cool that you still have the same camera! And it’s also enlightening to look back on specific moments when technology changes our lives. A similar thing happened to me with a Kodak Disc camera many Christmases ago, myself. Thanks for commenting, Helen!

Comments? Leave a Reply!

